Cities in Kenya

Nairobi, Mombasa and Kisumu are the three cities in Kenya; Nairobi lies in central Kenya, Mombasa on the Indian Ocean and Kisumu on the shores of Lake Victoria. Nakuru, Eldoret, Kitale and Lamu are among the major towns.


Nairobi is the capital of Kenya and the main tourist hub, it’s home to the country’s major international airport, Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (NBO). Most tours start in the capital, which also hosts numerous Kenyan businesses and more than 100 major international companies and organizations.


Nairobi skyline. Photo by Mutua Matheka

There are many tourist attractions in the capital such as, Nairobi National Park, Giraffe Centre, Bomas of Kenya, monuments, museums, nature parks and an active nightlife.


Mombasa is the second-largest city in Kenya and a regional cultural and economic hub. It has a prominent port (Kilindini Harbor), an international airport (Moi International Airport) and it is an important regional tourism center. Tourist attractions include Mombasa Old Town, Fort Jesus and the beaches on the North Coast and South Coast of Mombasa Island.

Cities in Kenya

Mombasa, second largest city in Kenya


Kisumu is the third-largest city in Kenya and the principal city of western Kenya. It is a port town and the port, sited on the shores of Lake Victoria, is used for shipping goods destined for Tanzania, Uganda, Burundi, Rwanda and Democratic Republic of Congo. Tourist attractions include the Kisumu Museum, Kisumu Impala Sanctuary, Hippo Point and Ndere Island National Park.


Nakuru is the third-largest urban center in the country. Agriculture, manufacturing and tourism are the backbone of the economy of Nakuru. The town is also an important educational center. Tourist attractions include Lake Nakuru, which forms part of the Lake Nakuru National Park, Menengai Crater, the second largest surviving volcanic crater in the world and Hyrax Hill Prehistoric Site.


Eldoret is the fifth-largest town in Kenya lying south of the Cherangani Hills, Major industries in the area include textiles, wheat, pyrethrum and corn. Eldoret is the hometown of numerous legendary Kenyan athletes who have dominated middle- and long-distance races.


Kitale is an agricultural town situated between Mount Elgon and Cherangani Hills. The main cash crops grown in the area are sunflower, tea, coffee, Pyrethrum, maize and beans. Kitale is a market town for the local agricultural area and it is known for the Kitale Museum (the National Museum of Western Kenya) and an agroforestry center.

Saiwa Swamp National Park, which is the smallest national park in the country and home to the Sitatunga, a rare aquatic antelope is close to the town.


Lamu is one of the oldest continually inhabited towns in Kenya. It was founded in the 14th century and contains many fine examples of Swahili architecture. There are few motorized vehicles and donkeys are used to carry goods. Lamu Town is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Cities in Kenya – Cities, municipalities and towns of Kenya by population

Below are the most populous cities, municipalities and towns in Kenya. There are only 3 incorporated cities – Nairobi, the capital, Mombasa, the second largest city in Kenya and Kisumu however, there are numerous municipalities and towns with significant urban populations. Two of the cities, namely Nairobi and Mombasa are cities whose county borders run the same as their city limits, so in a way they could be thought of as City-Counties.

City/Town Status Population County
Nairobi Metro Metro 6,547,547 Nairobi Kajiado Machakos Kiambu
1 Nairobi City 3,375,000 Nairobi
2 Mombasa City 1,200,000 Mombasa
3 Kisumu City 409,928 Kisumu
4 Nakuru Municipality 307,990 Nakuru
5 Eldoret Municipality 289,380 Uasin Gishu
6 Kehancha Municipality 256,086 Migori
7 Ruiru Municipality 238,858 Kiambu
8 Kikuyu Town Council 233,231 Kiambu
9 Kangundo-Tala Town Council 218,557 Machakos
10 Malindi Municipality 207,253 Kilifi
11 Naivasha Municipality 181,966 Nakuru
12 Kitui Municipality 155,896 Kitui
13 Machakos Municipality 150,041 Machakos
14 Thika Municipality 139,853 Kiambu
15 Athi River (Mavoko) Municipality 139,380 Machakos
16 Karuri Town Council 129,934 Kiambu
17 Neri Municipality 125,357 Nyeri
18 Kilifi Town Council 122,899 Kilifi
19 Garisa Town Council 119,696 Garissa
20 Vihiga Municipality 118,696 Vihiga
21 Mumias Municipality 116,358 Kakamega
22 Bomet Municipality 110,963 Bomet
23 Molo Town Council 107,806 Nakuru
24 Ngong Other Centre 107,188 Kajiado
25 Kitale Municipality 106,187 Trans-Nzoia
26 Litein Town Council 104,600 Kericho
27 Limuru Municipality 104,282 Kiambu
28 Kericho Municipality 104,282 Kericho
29 Kimilili Municipality 94,927 Bungoma
30 Awasi Other Centre 93,369 Kisumu
31 Kakamega Municipality 91,768 Kakamega
32 Kapsabet Municipality 91,030 Nandi
33 Mariakani Town Council 89,321 Kilifi
34 Kiambu Municipality 88,869 Kiambu
35 Mandera Town Council 87,692 Mandera
36 Nyamira Town Council 84,239 Nyamira
37 Mwingi Town Council 83,803 Kitui
38 Kisii Municipality 83,460 Kisii
39 Wajir Other Centre 82,800 Wajir
40 Rongo Town Council 82,066 Migori
41 Bungoma Municipality 81,151 Bungoma
42 Ahero Town Council 76,828 Kisumu
43 Nandi Hills Town Council 73,626 Trans-Nzoia
44 Makuyu Town Council 71,913 Murang’a
45 Kapenguria Town Council 71,477 West Pokot
46 Taveta Town Council 67,505 Taita-Taveta
47 Narok Town Council 67,505 Narok
48 Ol Kalou Town Council 66,015 Nyandarua
49 Kakuma Other Centre 65,814 Turkana
50 Webuye Municipality 65,280 Bungoma
51 Malaba Town Council 63,324 Busia
52 Mbita Point Town Council 62,974 Homa Bay
53 Ukunda Other Centre 62,529 Kwale
54 Wundanyi Other Centre 62,404 Taita-Taveta
55 Busia Municipality 61,715 Busia
56 Runyenjes Municipality 61,604 Embu
57 Migori Municipality 61,049 Migori
58 Malava Town Council 60,831 Kakamega
59 Suneka Town Council 60,730 Kisii
60 Embu Municipality 60,673 Embu
61 Ogembo Town Council 60,289 Kisii
62 Homa Bay Municipality 59,844 Homa Bay
63 Lodwar Municipality 58,218 Turkana
64 Kitengela Other Centre 58,167 Kajiado
65 Utawala Town Council 57,081 Siaya
66 Keroka Town Council 54,655 Kisii
67 Meru Municipality 53,627 Meru
68 Matuu Town Council 53,144 Machakos
69 Oyugis Town Council 52,354 Kisumu
70 Nyahururu Municipality 51,434 Laikipia
71 Kipkelion Town Council 49,939 Kericho
72 Luanda Town Council 49,346 Vihiga
73 Nanyuki Municipality 49,233 Laikipia
74 Maua Municipality 49,012 Meru
75 Mtwapa Other Centre 48,625 Kilifi
76 Isiolo Other Centre 46,128 Isiolo
77 Eldama Ravine Town Council 45,799 Baringo
78 Voi Municipality 45,483 Taita-Taveta
79 Siaya Municipality 45,353 Siaya
80 Nyansiongo Town Council 45,313 Nyamira
81 Londiani Town Council 44,953 Kericho
82 Iten/Tambach Town Council 44,448 Elgeyo-Marakwet
83 Chuka Municipality 43,470 Tharaka-Nithi
84 Malakisi Town Council 41,784 Bungoma
85 Juja Other Centre 40,446 Kiambu
86 Ongata Rongai Other Centre 40,178 Kajiado
87 Bondo Town Council 39,224 Siaya
88 Moyale Other Centre 37,387 Marsabit
89 Maralal Town Council 35,472 Samburu
90 Gilgil Other Centre 35,293 Nakuru
91 Nambale Town Council 34,735 Busia
92 Tabaka Town Council 34,724 Kisii
93 Muhoroni Town Council 34,457 Kisumu
94 Kerugoya/Kutus Municipality 34,014 Kirinyaga
95 Ugunja Town Council 33,878 Siaya
96 Yala Town Council 33,646 Siaya
97 Rumuruti Town Council 32,993 Laikipia
98 Burnt Forest Town Council 32,649 Uasin Gishu
99 Maragua Town Council 32,315 Murang’a
100 Kendu Bay Town Council 31,699 Homa Bay

Other Pages That May Interest You

Nairobi Safari – City Tours and Excursions
Mombasa Safaris and Tours / Excursions
Tourist attractions in Kenya
Things to Do in Kenya
Kenya Package Holidays
Family Safari Packages
Return from Cities in Kenya to the Homepage

Kenya > Kenya Holidays > Cities in Kenya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *